Do you want a medical marijuana card?
Yes, what are the next steps?
Submit Contact Info
- Fill out contact info
- Submit Deposit
- Wait for Confirmation Appointment Date
Yes! Florida first legalized medical cannabis in 2014 when the Legislature passed the Compassionate Use Act allowing patients suffering from cancer and epilepsy to access low-THC cannabis. This program was expanded in 2016 under the Right to Try Act which permitted full-strength cannabis to patients with a terminal illness.
On November 8, 2016 Florida voters passed Amendment 2 with a 71.3% majority, allowing for a larger medical cannabis program, effective January 2017. On June 23, 2017 Governor Rick Scott signed Senate Bill 8A into law, removing the dreaded “90 day wait” and establishing operational guidelines to meet the requirements of Amendment 2. The program is still in a fluid state, with rules and regulations are expected to change over time. The program has grown exponentially – now including flower for smokable use and edibles.
Florida requires that patients obtain a certification from a qualifying physician during a face to face medical evaluation. Qualifying physicians have completed training specific to medicinal marijuana. After obtaining a certification (and being entered into the registry), a patient must submit an application to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use to obtain an ID card. Once a patient receives their temporary (via email) or permanent ID card and an order from their physician they may purchase medication at a licensed dispensary.
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those listed
- Terminal illness
- Chronic nonmalignant pain
State law allows doctors the ability to certify patients for medical cannabis who are suffering from conditions that have similar symptoms, processes, or debilitating nature as those listed. This may include a wide array of chronic illnesses and symptoms. If you have a medical condition that you believe may benefit from medical cannabis contact us to discuss further.
Sort of. Florida law requires that patients are Florida residents or seasonal residents. To qualify as a seasonal resident you must live in Florida at least 31 consecutive days per year.
Full-time residents must submit a copy of their Florida-issued driver’s license or ID with their Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card application.
Seasonal residents must submit two of the following documents as proof of residency:
A deed, mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet, or residential rental/lease agreement.
One proof of address from the patient’s parent, step-parent, legal guardian, or another person with whom the patient resides. The patient must also submit a statement from the person with whom the patient resides attesting that the patient does in fact live with him/her.
A utility hookup, work order, or utility bill not more than 2 months old.
Mail from a bank or financial institution.
Mail from a federal, state, county, or municipal government agency, not more than 2 months old.
Other documentation that provides proof of residential address may be accepted by department rule.
YES! As of March 2019, Florida now allows smoking of medical cannabis when recommended by a qualifying physician.
No. There are a variety of other ways to consume medical cannabis including vaporization, sublingual (under the tongue), oral, topical, and suppository delivery methods.
Yes! Edibles finally hit the shelves in 2020.